The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the poshest leagues across the globe conducted by BCCI. It is prominent across the country with “INDIA KA TYOHAAR‘ which means festival of India. Players from different countries participate and entertain billions of cricket lovers with their phenomenal performances. Tata IPL 2022 is the 15th edition of the IPL started on March 26. KKR welcomes this league with a 6-wicket triumph against CSK. Be with this blog, to get comprehensive information on Tata IPL 2022.

Tata IPL 2022 Venues

The fifteenth edition of IPL started on March 26 with KKR’s 6-wicket triumph against legendary CSK at the iconic Wankhede Stadium. This edition of IPL will be held across venues in Maharashtra’s Mumbai and Pune. A total of 10 teams are locking horns against each other within 65 days with a total of 74 matches. Of these, 70 are league matches and 4 are play-off matches.

People eagerly wait for double-headers of the league. Let me tell you, the first double-header was played on March 27 between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Mumbai Indians (MI) in the day, and a night game between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the Cricket Club of India and DY Patil Stadium respectively.

A total of 12 double-headers matches were played in IPL 2022, with the timing of the first match at 3:30 PM and 7:30 PM with the second match.

If we talk about the number of matches hosted by different venues then, 20 IPL matches were hosted by Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium each, whereas 15 IPL matches were played at Cricket Club of India and MCA International. League’s final match was played on MAY 22, between PBKS and SRH at Wankhede Stadium.

This edition of the Indian Premier League was not less than emotions because 2 giants of this league ended this tournament by securing the last two spots. We will look into that but before that check out the Groups and Schedule of Tata IPL 2022.

Also Read: Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup 2023 Schedule | Points Table | Results

Groups of Tata IPL 2022

This edition of the league was full of entertainment with some new rules and teams. Teams were divided into two groups which are as follows:

GROUP A: Mumbai Indians (MI), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Delhi Capitals (DC), and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).

GROUP B: Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS), and Gujarat Titans.

Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans were two teams added in the mega auction of this tournament.

Tata IPL 2022 Points Table | Standings of Each Team

Tata IPL 20222 | Tata IPL 2022 Time Table

Gujarat Titans14104000.31620
Rajasthan Royals1495000.29818
Lucknow Super Giants1495000.25118
Royal Challengers Bangalore148600-0.2.5316
Delhi Capitals1477000.20414
Punjab Kings1477000.12614
Kolkata Knight Riders1468000.14612
Sunrisers Hyderabad146800-o.37912
Chennai Super Kings1441000-0.2038
Mumbai Indians1441000-0.5068

After the league matches, play-offs were played among table toppers. Here are the results of the play-offs and final.


1RR vs GT24-05-20228:00 PMEden GardensGT won by 7 wickets
2RCB vs LSG25-05-20228:00 PMEden GardensRCB won by 14 runs
3RCB vs RR27-05-20228:00 PMNarendra Modi StadiumRR won by 7 wickets


4RR vs GT29-05-20228:00 PMNarendra Modi StadiumGT won by 7 wickets

Gujarat Titans which is the new team playing their first IPL, announced their arrival in style with a great victory against Rajasthan Royals.

Check out the complete winners list from 2008 to 2023 here


So far, the tournament was quite interesting and entertaining for cricket lovers as few matches were dramatic which worked as fuel to create suspense among the audience. Both new teams i.e. Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans played good cricket and what else we can say about GT? They announced their arrival in the tournament with swag by winning the first IPL title in the very first year.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the King of IPL?

Virat Kohli is the king not only in IPL but also in world cricket due to his phenomenal batting, leadership, and overall contribution while he is playing any game.

What has been the lowest score of IPL ever?

The lowest score in the history of IPL is 49 runs by Royal Challenger Bangalore against Kolkata in 2017.

Who was at the top of the Tata IPL 2022 Points Table?

Gujarat Titans was at the top of the list with 20 points.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *